BIRP species distribution SABAP2 species distribution
BIRP distribution, overlayed on
SABAP1 distribution
Current SABAP2 distribution, overlayed on
SABAP1 distribution

Cape Cormorant

Phalacrocorax capensis

IUCN Red Data status: NT Breeding indicator key
Endemic status: Breeding-endemic     No breeding data
Occurrence status:     Possible or Probable breeding
      Confirmed breeding

External Links

Species occurance by site

Name of site Monthly reporting rate (RR %) Total
RR %
at site
Addo Elephant National Park 3325DA (EC00000001300000.71451
Bayhead Natural Heritage Site (209) (KZ0000000066001.11852
Bird Island (Algoa Bay) (SA095) (EC00100006788577510010010076.92620
Bird Island Reserve (Lamberts Bay) (SA100) (WC100921009610010010010010010010010099.1348345
Black Rocks (Algoa Bay) (EC0050330000000037.583
Blouberg Nature Reserve (WC0000000001000033.331
Blouvlei / Intaka Island (WC50000010000000011.8172
Blythedale Beach Conservancy (KZ0000000000500.81281
Bot River Nature Reserve (WC10050050100100100500010010058.81710
Botriviervlei and Kleinmond Estuary (SA118) (WC505000033753300203343.84821
Boulders Bay (CPNP) (SA117) (WC1000000001000000100.022
Brenton Island (Algoa Bay) (EC000010000501000100083.365
Cape Columbine Nature Reserve (WC5001001001000010010010010010093.81615
Cape of Good Hope Nature Reserve (CPNP) (WC671006790915080501008310010083.35445
Cape Peninsula National Park (CPNP) (WC50001000005010000050.0105
Cape Recife Nature Reserve (EC678033675056100808340602961.86842
Cwebe Wildlife Reserve (SA089) (EC00002504301500019.4316
Dana Bay Conservancy (WC0010000000000033.331
Dassen Island Reserve (SA109) (WC90801006750426767801006710068.87753
De Hoop Nature Reserve (SA119) (WC30211918273345382931242828.722364
De Mond Nature Reserve (SA121) (WC332011330000817182718.17213
Dick Dent Bird Sanctuary (WC0008000000901.31532
Donkergat Military Area (WC100100100100100100100100100100100100100.03838
Driftsands MOSS (EC10002500001003333100033.3186
Duikerklip (Hout Bay) (WC0010001000000000100.022
Dwesa Wildlife Reserve (SA089) (EC0000033005010050045.5115
Dyer Island Nature Reserve (SA120) (WC10010092677510033010010010010090.26155
Elephant Rock Island Reserve (Olifants River) (WC0001001000000100010083.365
False Bay Park (proposed) (SA116) (WC0000001001001000010057.174
False Bay Seal Island Reserve (WC000001000000100050.042
Gamtoos River Mouth Nature Reserve (EC14000330331704033017.4468
Geelkrans Nature Reserve (WC10000000000000100.011
Geyser Island Reserve (Danger Pt) (WC000075100000100010077.897
Goukamma Nature & Marine Reserve (SA114) (WC2911176352529461532532925.620352
Greater St Lucia Wetland Park 2832AD (SA058) (KZ00000000170005.7885
Grootwitvlei & Rondevlei (WC0010000000000014.371
Harkerville Forest Reserve (WC00000050000006.3161
HF Verwoerd Coastal Reserve (WC5000000000008071.475
Ilanda Wilds Nature Reserve (KZ00002000000001.7591
Jaheel Island (Algoa Bay) (SA095) (EC00000001000000100.011
Joan Muirhead Nature Reserve (EC3301001001001001001001005005068.41913
Jutten Island (part of WCNP) (SA105) (WC001001000000010000100.044
Kabeljous River Nature Reserve (EC00000033250500011.1273
Keurbooms River Nature Reserve (WC500000130251817009.411711
Kleinmond Coast and Mountain Nature Reserve (WC01001000000100000033.393
Knysna National Park (WC5010000000001000050.084
Koeberg Nature Reserve (294) (WC0010001001004000100100060.72817
Lower Berg River Wetlands (SA104) (WC337167100671006310080807510073.34533
Malgas Island (part of WCNP) (SA105) (WC00331000001001001000075.0129
Marcus Island (part of WCNP) (SA105) (WC000100000000010066.732
Mossgas Nature Reserve (WC0010000000000050.021
Nahoon Nature Reserve (EC0000033252000005.8694
Orange River Mouth Wetlands (SA030) (NC8075010000758600010075.02821
Quoin Rock Island Reserve (WC00000100000000100.011
Reins Coastal Nature Reserve (WC0000000010000050.021
Robben Island (147) (SA110) (WC67100100010010001001001001007594.33533
Robben Island National Historical Monument (SA110) (WC100000000100000075.043
Robberg Nature Reserve (WC2042056111080422213023.911728
Rocherpan Nature Reserve (WC20010060100331718133017024.37418
Rondevlei Nature Reserve (SA116) (WC3301400000029255010.0707
Saldanha Military Area (WC50677550100757589501001003373.94634
San Lameer Conservancy (KZ00000000200002.1471
San Sebastian Private Nature Reserve (WC001000000010092100094.41817
Sardinia Bay Marine Reserve (EC0000100000000050.021
Sardinia Bay  Nature Reserve (EC010010010000100010000100100.01212
Seal Island (Algoa Bay) (SA095) (EC010010010000000000100.033
Seal Island (Donkergat) (WC000000000100010066.732
Seekoerivier Nature Reserve (EC00050000000502516.7305
Settlers Park Nature Reserve (EC0000060000000.52211
Silaka Wildlife Reserve (EC00000000100000100.011
Sinclair Nature Reserve (WC000005010017000025.0123
Skaapeiland (part of WCNP) (SA105) (WC001001000000010000100.044
St Lucia Park (SA058) (KZ00000050000002.3431
Stag Island (Algoa Bay) (SA058) (EC010010010000000000100.033
Stony Point Nature Reserve (Penguin) (WC000000000100010066.732
Storms River Coastal Forest (EC00500001000000050.042
Strandfontein Sewage Works (SA116) (WC1727383350505033330132930.37623
Sunshine Coast Nature Reserve (EC0000001000000050.021
Swartkops Estuary MOSS (SA096) (EC40000503300100670033.3217
Tsitsikamma National Park (SA098) (EC60100083670004350254054.34625
Uilkraalsmond Nature Reserve (WC00000000100000100.011
Umdoni Park (KZ0000050000000.61561
Umgeni River Park (KZ0000500014010003.81315
Umhlanga Lagoon Nature Reserve (KZ00000002500002.6391
Umlalazi Nature Reserve (SA063) (KZ0000000090001.01011
Umvoti Estuary (166) (SA073) (KZ0000000009000.51951
University Port Elizabeth Private Nature Reserve (EC000000000500015.4132
Verlorenvlei (SA103) (WC0000000010000025.041
Vondeling Island Reserve (WC00100100000010000060.053
Waenhuiskrans Nature Reserve (De Mond) (WC00000000001000100.011
Walker Bay Nature Reserve (WC0000000000100014.371
West Coast National Park (SA105) (WC26423350671371674433271840.022088
Wilderness National Park (SA114) (WC1318033004000380010.7849
Woody Cape Nature Reserve (SA094) (Now part of Addo Elephant National Park 3326CB) (EC001000000000002.6381
Zandvlei Nature Reserve (WC00000000001401.5671
Zwartkops Valley Nature Reserve (SA096) (EC00033001001005000045.5115