BIRP species distribution SABAP2 species distribution
BIRP distribution, overlayed on
SABAP1 distribution
Current SABAP2 distribution, overlayed on
SABAP1 distribution

Swift Tern

Sterna bergii

IUCN Red Data status: Breeding indicator key
Endemic status:     No breeding data
Occurrence status:     Possible or Probable breeding
      Confirmed breeding

External Links

Species occurance by site

Name of site Monthly reporting rate (RR %) Total
RR %
at site
Amatikulu Nature Reserve (KZ000200000000112.9692
Bayhead Natural Heritage Site (209) (KZ63522950226769445344525049.718592
Beachwood Mangroves Nature Reserve (KZ0505010000001000100070.0107
Bird Island (Algoa Bay) (SA095) (EC0010000100505775100100065.42617
Bird Island Reserve (Lamberts Bay) (SA100) (WC939697939310096961001001009796.8348337
Blomboschfontein Nature Reserve (WC0000000001000050.021
Bluff Military Area (KZ0000100001001001000055.695
Bluff Nature Reserve (KZ0004000000000.33201
Blythedale Beach Conservancy (KZ000250000013001.61282
Bonamanzi Game Park (240) (KZ0000000080001.1931
Bosbokstrand Private Nature Reserve (EC005000000000050.021
Bot River Nature Reserve (WC10010010010050100100100100100010088.21715
Botriviervlei and Kleinmond Estuary (SA118) (WC50500006758330100406747.94823
Boulders Bay (CPNP) (SA117) (WC0000000100000050.021
Brenton Island (Algoa Bay) (EC000000000050016.761
Cape Columbine Nature Reserve (WC5005010010000100336705056.3169
Cape of Good Hope Nature Reserve (CPNP) (WC331003310010050601006767755075.95441
Cape Peninsula National Park (CPNP) (WC01000100000505000040.0104
Cape Recife Nature Reserve (EC67601006763788380830605766.26845
Cape St Francis Nature Reserve (EC00000000010000100.011
Cape Vidal State Forest (GSL) (SA058) (KZ00140000000005.3191
Cwebe Wildlife Reserve (SA089) (EC000252505706200045.23114
Dassen Island Reserve (SA109) (WC50601006757836767408005061.07747
De Hoop Nature Reserve (SA119) (WC100119144236152528292821.522348
De Mond Nature Reserve (SA121) (WC020226700003833363630.67222
Donkergat Military Area (WC6067505050670333350675050.03819
Dwesa Wildlife Reserve (SA089) (EC0000010000251000045.5115
Dyer Island Nature Reserve (SA120) (WC4310010010010010033010082832077.06147
Eastern Shores State Forest (KZ5000000000250028.672
Elandsbaai Nature Reserve (WC130011000505000012.1334
False Bay Park (GSL) (SA058) (KZ100000000000001.6611
False Bay Park (proposed) (SA116) (WC0000010000100100010057.174
False Bay Seal Island Reserve (WC00000000050100050.042
Gamtoos River Mouth Nature Reserve (EC294003300500502033023.94611
Geyser Island Reserve (Danger Pt) (WC000075000000033.393
Goukamma Nature & Marine Reserve (SA114) (WC61111225381415716202914.820330
Great Fish River Nature Reserve (EC0000001000000020.051
Great Fish River Wetland Reserve (EC10001000100010000500045.5115
Greater St Lucia Wetland Park 2832AB (SA058) (KZ00000000001003313.3304
Greater St Lucia Wetland Park 2832AD (SA058) (KZ010044002704533806735.28831
Greater St Lucia Wetland Park 2832BA (SA058) (KZ00000000330010025.082
Harkerville Forest Reserve (WC000001005005000018.8163
HF Verwoerd Coastal Reserve (WC000000000004028.672
Jakkalsvlei (WC00000000010000100.011
Joan Muirhead Nature Reserve (EC10010010010010010010010005010010089.51917
Jutten Island (part of WCNP) (SA105) (WC0001000000000025.041
Kabeljous River Nature Reserve (EC100000050050050208344.42712
Kap River Nature Reserve (EC033000000140004.9412
Keurbooms River Nature Reserve (WC02000000000000.91171
Kleinmond Coast and Mountain Nature Reserve (WC10010010000000501000066.796
Kleinriver Nature Reserve (WC00000000010000100.011
Knysna National Park (WC0100000000000025.082
Koeberg Nature Reserve (294) (WC0050050670050500028.6288
Kogelberg Nature Reserve (SA107) (WC001000000000004.8211
Kwelera Forest Reserve (EC00000000000100100.011
Lower Berg River Wetlands (SA104) (WC6757671006750506760607510062.24528
Macasser Waste Water Treatment Works (WC1001006750007510010010010010068.02517
Malgas Island (part of WCNP) (SA105) (WC000100001001000250041.7125
Mapelane Forest Reserve (GSL) (SA057) (KZ678050207533033100501005047.74421
Marcus Island (part of WCNP) (SA105) (WC000100000000010066.732
Mkambati Nature Reserve (SA087) (EC500000000000014.371
Mkuzi Game Reserve (SA057) (KZ0000000002000.25521
Mpenjati Nature Reserve (KZ92100100926364858871939110086.6119103
Nahoon Nature Reserve (EC17501700002027400015.96911
Northern Treatment Works (KZ018600025141401006.01167
Olifants River Estuary (SA099) (WC00000000010000100.011
Orange River Mouth Wetlands (SA030) (NC801000010001008600010085.72824
Paarl Bird Sanctuary (WC0000000300000.24961
Raapenberg Bird Sanctuary (WC00025000000004.0251
Reins Coastal Nature Reserve (WC0000000100100000100.022
Richards Bay Game Reserve (SA079) (KZ1000000010001000010053.8137
Rietvlei Wetland Reserve (SA111) (WC0001000010000050025.0123
Robben Island (147) (SA110) (WC100100100050100010010075505085.73530
Robben Island National Historical Monument (SA110) (WC0000000100000050.042
Robberg Nature Reserve (WC40330220201717212813020.511724
Rocherpan Nature Reserve (WC003320067671003840171437.87428
Rondevlei Nature Reserve (SA116) (WC170291014014000008.6706
Saldanha Military Area (WC7510010010075250110503310047.84622
San Lameer Conservancy (KZ00250000000002.1471
San Sebastian Private Nature Reserve (WC001000000010092100094.41817
Sardinia Bay  Nature Reserve (EC0033000750000033.3124
Seal Island (Algoa Bay) (SA095) (EC001001000000000066.732
Seal Island (Donkergat) (WC0000000000010033.331
Seekoerivier Nature Reserve (EC60002500000100752530.0309
Silaka Wildlife Reserve (EC00000000100000100.011
Sinclair Nature Reserve (WC000000100000008.3121
Skaapeiland (part of WCNP) (SA105) (WC00010000000500050.042
Sodwana Bay National Park (SA058) (KZ000000005000012.581
St Lucia Game Reserve (SA058) (KZ00010000000004036.4114
St Lucia Marine Reserve (SA058) (KZ000000100000100066.732
St Lucia Park (SA058) (KZ2506700501000055572041.94318
Stag Island (Algoa Bay) (SA058) (EC010010010000000000100.033
Stony Point Nature Reserve (Penguin) (WC000000000100010066.732
Strandfontein Sewage Works (SA116) (WC100917567835050506775887175.07657
Sunshine Coast Nature Reserve (EC0000001000000050.021
Swartkops Estuary MOSS (SA096) (EC000500000033009.5212
Trafalgar Marine Reserve (KZ01000010050100010010010010091.71211
Treasure Beach Nature Reserve (KZ00000130000001.8551
Tsitsikamma National Park (SA098) (EC70670501000007133256056.54626
Uilkraalsmond Nature Reserve (WC00000000100000100.011
Umdoni Park (KZ00000110000001.31562
Umgeni River Park (KZ9489801001001009193100958810092.4131121
Umhlanga Conservancy (KZ000017011090004.2713
Umhlanga Lagoon Nature Reserve (KZ500250040255001000023.1399
Umlalazi Nature Reserve (SA063) (KZ14400022223123363310021.810122
Umtamvuna Marine Conservancy (KZ100100100751000001000010090.02018
Umvoti Estuary (166) (SA073) (KZ905267385785100869391675572.8195142
Umzumbe Conservancy (KZ00000005000003.4291
Vondeling Island Reserve (WC00010010010000000060.053
Walker Bay Nature Reserve (WC00005000000100028.672
West Coast National Park (SA105) (WC21425864335057526325142342.722094
Wilderness National Park (SA114) (WC3891400020000088.3847
Woody Cape Nature Reserve (SA094) (Now part of Addo Elephant National Park 3326CB) (EC00000670000005.3382
Zandvlei Nature Reserve (WC17029000170001407.5675