BIRP species distribution SABAP2 species distribution
BIRP distribution, overlayed on
SABAP1 distribution
Current SABAP2 distribution, overlayed on
SABAP1 distribution

African Black Oystercatcher

Haematopus moquini

IUCN Red Data status: NT Breeding indicator key
Endemic status: Breeding-endemic     No breeding data
Occurrence status:     Possible or Probable breeding
      Confirmed breeding

External Links

Species occurance by site

Name of site Monthly reporting rate (RR %) Total
RR %
at site
Bird Island (Algoa Bay) (SA095) (EC000006775577510010010069.22618
Bird Island Reserve (Lamberts Bay) (SA100) (WC9692100939796100969797979796.6348336
Blouberg Nature Reserve (WC0000000001000033.331
Bosbokstrand Private Nature Reserve (EC00100000000000100.022
Bot River Nature Reserve (WC10010010010010010010010000010082.41714
Botriviervlei and Kleinmond Estuary (SA118) (WC50800006733670100206747.94823
Brenton Island (Algoa Bay) (EC00001000010010001000100.066
Cape Agulhas National Park (WC0000000010000033.331
Cape Columbine Nature Reserve (WC0010010010000100100670062.51610
Cape of Good Hope Nature Reserve (CPNP) (WC3310067904508010033671005063.05434
Cape Peninsula National Park (CPNP) (WC501000100000505000050.0105
Cape Recife Nature Reserve (EC678010010063898310010080804379.46854
Cape St Francis Nature Reserve (EC00000000010000100.011
Cwebe Wildlife Reserve (SA089) (EC000050001003800029.0319
Dana Bay Conservancy (WC010010010000000000100.033
Dassen Island Reserve (SA109) (WC90100100785750676740201005064.97750
De Hoop Nature Reserve (SA119) (WC40573745362527385031523339.022387
De Mond Nature Reserve (SA121) (WC501008967000507783558275.07254
Donkergat Military Area (WC10010050507510010010010010010010089.53834
Driftsands MOSS (EC100025000010033330027.8185
Duikerklip (Hout Bay) (WC0000100000000050.021
Dwesa Wildlife Reserve (SA089) (EC0001000330075050054.5116
Dyer Island Nature Reserve (SA120) (WC100100580501003301008210010075.46146
East London Coast Nature Reserve (EC000000100000008.3121
Elandsbaai Nature Reserve (WC0001100050500009.1333
False Bay Park (proposed) (SA116) (WC000000100100100100010071.475
False Bay Seal Island Reserve (WC000000000500025.041
Gamtoos River Mouth Nature Reserve (EC100100100100100506710010010010010093.54643
Geyser Island Reserve (Danger Pt) (WC000075100000100010077.897
Glendower (101) (EC00100000000000100.011
Goukamma Nature & Marine Reserve (SA114) (WC53533928355657316342677148.820399
Great Fish River Nature Reserve (EC0000001000000020.051
Great Fish River Wetland Reserve (EC10010000100001000100010063.6117
Greater St Lucia Wetland Park 2832AD (SA058) (KZ000000180306006.8886
Harkerville Forest Reserve (WC00000100500000012.5162
HF Verwoerd Coastal Reserve (WC50000000000010085.776
Jaheel Island (Algoa Bay) (SA095) (EC00000001000000100.011
Jakkalsvlei (WC00000000010000100.011
Joan Muirhead Nature Reserve (EC100100100100100100100100100100100100100.01919
Jutten Island (part of WCNP) (SA105) (WC001001000000010000100.044
Kabeljous River Nature Reserve (EC1000000756750100501006774.12720
Kap River Nature Reserve (EC03300000000002.4411
Keurbooms River Nature Reserve (WC04002903101312116012.811715
Kleinmond Coast and Mountain Nature Reserve (WC0010000000000011.191
Kleinriver Nature Reserve (WC00000000010000100.011
Knysna National Park (WC1000100010000001000062.585
Koeberg Nature Reserve (294) (WC1000505075100100050100100075.02821
Kromme Island Estates Private Nature Reserve (EC00000000001000100.022
Kwelera Forest Reserve (EC00000000000100100.011
Lower Berg River Wetlands (SA104) (WC0430033502500025017.8458
Macasser Waste Water Treatment Works (WC100100100100100100100100100100010096.02524
Malgas Island (part of WCNP) (SA105) (WC0010000001001001000083.31210
Mapelane Forest Reserve (GSL) (SA057) (KZ00000330000002.3441
Marcus Island (part of WCNP) (SA105) (WC000100000001000100100.033
Mpenjati Nature Reserve (KZ025000900001803.41194
Nahoon Nature Reserve (EC330171700250920175013.0699
Namaqua National Park 3017AB (NC10000000000000100.011
Noetzie Conservancy (WC00000000010000100.011
Olifants River Estuary (SA099) (WC00000000010000100.011
Orange River Mouth Wetlands (SA030) (NC2050000025000010025.0287
Paternoster Rock Island Reserve (WC00000000100000100.011
Reins Coastal Nature Reserve (WC0000000100100000100.022
Rietvlei Wetland Reserve (SA111) (WC671000100001000010010010091.71211
Robben Island (147) (SA110) (WC100100860100100010010010010010097.13534
Robben Island National Historical Monument (SA110) (WC0000000100000050.042
Robberg Nature Reserve (WC1008310067671007583588975077.811791
Rocherpan Nature Reserve (WC6075100801006733552570677160.87445
Saldanha Military Area (WC501001001001001001008910010010010093.54643
San Sebastian Private Nature Reserve (WC001000000010092100094.41817
Sardinia Bay Marine Reserve (EC0000100000100000100.022
Sardinia Bay  Nature Reserve (EC0100100100007505000075.0129
Seal Island (Algoa Bay) (SA095) (EC010010010000000000100.033
Seal Island (Donkergat) (WC000000000100010066.732
Seekoerivier Nature Reserve (EC401000252033010000255033.33010
Sinclair Nature Reserve (WC000005010017000025.0123
Skaapeiland (part of WCNP) (SA105) (WC001001000000010000100.044
Stag Island (Algoa Bay) (SA058) (EC010010010000000000100.033
Stony Point Nature Reserve (Penguin) (WC000000000100010066.732
Storms River Coastal Forest (EC001000001000000100100.044
Strandfontein Sewage Works (SA116) (WC8373636750751006710075755771.17654
Sunshine Coast Nature Reserve (EC0000001000000050.021
Swartkops Estuary MOSS (SA096) (EC80100100100503300100100010071.42115
Tharfield Private Nature Reserve (EC0000010000000050.021
Trafalgar Marine Reserve (KZ00000000002508.3121
Tsitsikamma National Park (SA098) (EC901000831005000573304063.04629
Uilkraalsmond Nature Reserve (WC00000000100000100.011
Umvoti Estuary (166) (SA073) (KZ1000070014470006.219512
Van Stadens River Mouth Reserve (EC0000000000010050.021
Verlorenvlei (SA103) (WC0000000010000025.041
Vondeling Island Reserve (WC0010010010010000100000100.055
Waenhuiskrans Nature Reserve (De Mond) (WC00000000001000100.011
Walker Bay Nature Reserve (WC0000005000100100042.973
West Coast National Park (SA105) (WC42584268567571575042454151.8220114
Wilderness National Park (SA114) (WC13029335004000380816.78414
Woody Cape Nature Reserve (SA094) (Now part of Addo Elephant National Park 3326CB) (EC001000067500000013.2385
Zwartkops Valley Nature Reserve (SA096) (EC0000005005000018.2112